April Book Haul

The beginning of a new month are upon us, and I feel myself wondering where April went. Really, it just blew right past me. Then again, I felt the same way about March. Reading wise, I had a good month in April – I caught up on my Goodreads reading challenge as I was a bit behind after a not so successful March (I blame The Goldfinch). But today I thought I’d share the books I acquired in April.

In total I got 11 books, which isn’t too bad – it could’ve been worse, and I have certainly bought more books than that in a month in the past. However, I got most of these books in the first week of April, meaning I sort of let go of self control and relished in its absence. But there is good reason for this too, my dearest friend was here on a visit so we ended up visiting three bookstores in total, obviously I had to buy books from every place we went. Actually I bought all of these books for the money I got on Persian New Year, so it’s all good.

Without further ado, let’s get to the books.

First off, we visited my favourite bookstore in my hometown, the “Science Fiction Bookshop” is the name of it. As the title suggests, they have sci-fi books but also fantasy, horror, dystopian, etc – anything really with a more fantastical element to it.

IMG_1918I have already read The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson which I liked, but didn’t love – however the more time went by after finishing it, the more it grew on me. I look forward to reading more by Jackson. The Penguin Modern Classics are rather pretty, but they’re so expensive. And as for Valente’s children’s series I’ve really been meaning to read it for some time and I keep seeing rave reviews of it so down in the bag it went.

Next off, we went to my favourite secondhand store which I visit on a regular basis. I actually didn’t think I would find much since I pretty much “cleaned it out” last time I was there in March, but luck was with me. Four books for the price of not even one full price. This is why I love secondhand shopping. The books on the right side are the secondhand finds.

IMG_1992The wind in the willows is a children’s classic, so I obviously needed it in my life, and it had beautiful coloured illustrations – I wish more books had illustrations in them, they add so much to the pleasure of reading. And the end papers (map of the woods) reminded me of Winnie the Pooh. I look forward to reading it. On the right is a polish classic, “The manuscript found in Saragossa”, a spontaneous buy but I am actually trying to read more translated books from other countries in Europe – I feel like I tend to stick to France and England (as you do, if you read the classics that are acclaimed). So I was happy to find it. Below we have “Röda Rummet” (or The red room in English) – a Swedish classic, another wish I have is to read more Swedish literature – I feel embarrassingly unknowledgeable about my own country’s literary history. Lastly, on the right we have “We, the drowned” – a Norwegian classic, or perhaps a modern classic, I’m not too sure. This was my happiest find as I had already been looking to buy this full price.

On the left side of the picture are the four books I bought in the last bookstore we visited together. More classics, I’m a bit obsessed at the moment. The fellowship of the rings because I hope to start it this summer, A room of one’s own because feminist text – need I say more? Middlemarch because reasons, Monte Cristo because it’s apparently supposed to be gay and also epic adventure, sounds fun!

Now, these are all the books I purchased. However, I did also win a Give-away this month, which was very exciting because it’s the first time I’ve won a Give-away. Hurray! I got to choose the book I wanted, so I decided upon this one:

IMG_2007I read A tale for the time being by Ruth Ozeki in 2013 and I absolutely loved it so I’ve been meaning to catch up on her backlist. This seems like a fun read, so I look forward to getting to this one.

Those were all of the books I acquired in April. I’ve actually borrowed books from the library too, this month. Yes I know, I have a problem. Big fat book addict present.

That’s all for now. Hope you are all having a lovely Saturday!
Nayu

Leave a Reply

