The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain

I was initially planning to reread Huckleberry Finn (I believe I read it almost 10 years ago) because I wanted to read it with a fresh, adult, mind. However I decided to read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer first. I believe I read this in school, it might’ve even been one of those books that we read out loud in class in 2nd or 3rd grade. Reading it this time though, I can’t say anything felt familiar so either it’s been so long, or I really haven’t read it before.

Anyway. Hats off to Mark Twain for making me laugh and reminiscence about my childhood. Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, Joe Harper too, are healthy, mischievous, full of life and imagination, and they are on the search for adventure. Being a pirate or a robber are aspirations they share, finding a treasure and become rich, too. The story really is about their adventures and the many mishaps along the way, the mystery surrounding a certain murder, the everyday life as they ponder the purpose of their lives, and some (Tom) fall in love and deal with the consequences of it, well it’s mostly about the daydreaming and planning of adventures, and then actual adventures.

I really enjoyed reading this! It was funny, and as I said, nostalgic, for me. The way that kids behave, like not wanting to go to school in the morning so Tom is trying to find somewhere, anywhere in his body that could be an excuse to not go, really examines every part of his body to find that source of ailment. Or when he makes the other boys paint the fence for him by making it seem like fun to paint it, seem like something they would like to do – and so he ends up sitting back, and enjoying his evening while the other boys works their butts off (and also pays him for it, to be able to paint the fence). Those were moments I could laugh about, because they hit home.

It’s entertaining because it is very much a child’s imagination and written from a child’s perspective. Where for example, the boys talk about robbers, they have very specific ideas of what a robber is supposed to do, be like, look like, etc – all based on books they’ve read. And yet they don’t quite understand everything they’ve read, e.g. orgies, and so it becomes comical to read such an innocent and unexperienced perspective.

I will be reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn very soon I should think, to continue following at least Huck on his adventures and meet new characters of Twain’s making.

Leave a Reply

