The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie

This won’t be much of a review, I suspect. I have only a minute ago finished my fourth Christie and as it happens also the fourth book in the Hercule Poirot series – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I can understand why this has got such high ratings, it’s fantastic!

This book does not starr Captain Hastings, in comparison to the previous three. Instead, this is later in Poirot’s career as a private detective, actually after he has retired. The narration is therefor done in somewhat different manner as the narrator is not as close to Poirot, and does not follow him around every single step of the way. But the story is no less for these differences, it’s marvelously written and I truly feel as if Christie’s skills as a writer developed much over time. Although I enjoyed the first book in the series (The Mysterious Affair at Styles) it didn’t impress me as much as I was hoping, and expecting, it would. For me this book is much more impressive, the crime and the way it unravels is fun and unexpecting and throws you for so many loops. It’s clever and basically you end up questioning every character one after the other, and still the end comes as a surprise. At least this happened for me with this book. The end was so great!

To sum it up, Agatha Christie is a queen and I can’t wait to continue reading the Poirot mysteries and continue to be amazed and challenged in the process.

Leave a Reply

