Reading Goals, 2016

As the year is drawing to a close, it’s time to start looking ahead – to the year to come. Truth to be told I started thinking about my goals (reading related and otherwise) sometime in November, brainstorming ideas, musing. However it wasn’t until sometime this month that they were truly perfected. I’m not the sort of person to cry over not reaching my goals, but I do call them goals rather than resolutions for a reason – it’s something I’m working towards, something to aspire, and hopefully to reach. For me, the entire point of goals is to have a clear view of yourself – of who you want to be, what you want to accomplish. And the key to goals – I think – is to have a mixture of them, some that will be easier to reach, some that perhaps are more general and almost philosophical in nature.

In 2015 my reading goals were to: reread more, decrease TBR, stop star-rating books, read more non-fiction, read more books from the Rory Gilmore reading challenge, and to read more POC authors/translated works. Some went better than others. For example, I realised fairly soon that I didn’t want to decrease my TBR. I had started feeling guilty over owning too many books, but I realised it wasn’t actually my true feelings, but rather inspired by the talk in the internet book community. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to decrease one’s TBR of course, it just wasn’t what I wanted to do. But that is a discussion for another day.

Without further ado, here are my reading goals for 2016:

  1. Read more translated works (especially outside of Japan & France)
  2. Reread at least two books (The Little Prince & The Wizard of Oz doesn’t count for this, as they are the only books I’ve read multiple times)
  3. Read what I want, not what I think I should (which I do for the most part – but I want to make a point of not checking Goodreads ratings and numbers every single time I pick up a book. Sometimes it would be nice to pick up a book simply because wanted to read it)
  4. Buy no books from Amazon (so of course that means no Bookdepository or Abebooks. I’m looking forward to finding new sources for my book buying)
  5. Only buy books written by women & books in translation full-price (might seem an odd goal, but I’ve realised a large portion of my TBR are books written by English (white) men, and in order to change up my reading I also need to change up the books I own. Plus, I’ve noticed it’s a lot easier finding books written by men in the secondhand stores around where I live, at least for the books I’m interested in)
  6. Read about half/every other book non-fiction (this is a big goal! It’s my main goal for the year, and it’s something I’m very excited about. It’s also possible it’ll be hard, but I look forward to discovering new genres within this ocean of books I’ve been neglecting)
  7. Annotate more in my books (something I’ve been thinking about the last couple of weeks, I do use post its but sometimes I have thoughts I want to save somehow and especially since I want to read more nonfiction, I figure annotating will make it easier for me to take it all in – similarly to how I handle my course literature)
  8. Lastly, read 70 books! (this number might change as the year progresses, depending on life circumstances, but for now – let’s aim high!)

Those are my reading goals for 2016. What are your goals, reading related or perhaps book buying related as some of mine are? And how did 2015 work out, did you reach your goals?

Until next time, Happy Reading!

N

2 thoughts on “Reading Goals, 2016

  1. Those are some great goals! I’m aiming for 70 too.. which is a bit of a stretch for me. I love that you’re hoping to read more non fiction. I look forward to hearing about all the things you try! Best of luck :).

    • Yes, 70 is definitely a stretch for me too but as you put it in your goals, I do want a bit of a challenge, we shall see how it goes. I really look forward to diving into nonfiction, there are so many different topics I want to learn more about! Thank you very much and good luck to you too! xo

Leave a Reply

